Considering a ProCharger Supercharger

So I am looking to get some more power out of my 5.3. And I am considering a ProCharger Supercharger. My research has shown these are pretty stout kits that give great power gains (+45% hp/tq), while maintaining (sometimes improving) fuel mileage. Which sounds pretty cool to me.

Now, I have no experience with boosting a vehicle. And there aren't many posts in depth about them on here. Specifically ProChargers.

I found a local shop and spoke with the owner and he said he has installed countless ProCharger kits on cars and trucks alike, and his customers are always satisfied. He's quoting me $5,141 for the kit (with the helical gears for lower noise) and then $800 for install. This also includes custom dyno tuning.

For an extra $49 I can get a 3 year warranty on the kit. And he also said that ProCharger offers powertrain warranties as well, but I would need to check with them on pricing.

Anyone have experience or comments? Does that sound like a reasonable price with install?

Thanks ahead of time.

• Like 1

Edelbrock looks pretty good too, and Tom Henry installs them on new Camaros he sells.

Yea I looked at them. I kind of settled on the ProCharger though. sealed unit. Good warranty. Best power increase. Less invasive install.

What your goals? Just raw power or do you plan on using truck as a truck?

Sent from Off Driller Side

Mostly just power upgrades. I don't really haul or tow on a regular basis. But I do work in construction and might tow or haul stuff once in a while

I was considering getting a project car. But thought I would rather just have a fast truck instead.

I also considered swapping for a 6.2. But in the end. I like my current truck. Just wish it had more power. So adding a pro charger would allow me to do that.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by fondupot

Pro chargers (centrifugals) shine at the track, very linear power peaking in upper RPM range.