Winter Tire Setups

I am thinking about a set of winter tires for my 2016 Sierra 2500HD. I live in Saskatchewan so its extreme cold, snow and ice. Im tired of sliding around on crappy tires. I need something safe for family.

What is everyone using? 

I’m in Ontario and I just bought a set of BF Goodrich KO2’s.    Never drove them in the snow with my 2500 Duramax but I had them in a Jeep Cherokee and they worked as good as any “winter” tire I’ve tried in the past; Michelin X-Ice and Hankook I-Pike   

I have been using Good Year  Duratracs for ten years. They may not be as good as a dedicated snow tire I don't know as I have never had those but they seem to work pretty good and I don't have to switch them over twice a year. Pretty much the same as the KO2's mentioned. 

If I lived in Canada, I'd go dedicated snow tire for winter.  Nokian Hakkapellita or Bridgestone Blizzak.  My brother's winter beater 03 Impala (no ABS or traction control) is a tank with 4 Nokians on it.   

https://www.nokiantires.com/winter-tires/nokian-hakkapeliitta-lt2/

https://www.bridgestonetire.com/tire/blizzak-w965

Edited by newdude

I bought a lightly used set of Goodyear Ultra Grip Ice WRT LT load range E.  They are studable.  Deep tread, soft rubber.  Noise levels were near the same as my Yokohama G015 all terrains.  Last winter was my first with them.  They worked fine, though I'll admit, last winter in southern Ontario was not particularly trecherous.  Heck, I did not even bother to get my ABS fixed, and I did not miss it.  I guess the solid traction of the tires helped the cause. 

My previous set was Michelin X-Ice.  They were fine too.  They were less aggressive, and handled a bit more like an all season tire when the roads were dry. 

Honestly, any winter tire, is better than an all terrain or all season tire for winter driving. 

Edited by rkj__