Thinking of getting a Diesel Canyon need the good, bad and ugly

JKent

Hello everyone,

Currently I own a Toyota Tacoma (well leasing it). I am a teacher and I have the summers off. We just bought a travel trailer and will be using it every summer from here on out to travel America. Next summer we will be hitting up Zion, Grand Canyon, Death Valley, Sequoia, Yosemite, and Big Sur. Total trip will probably be 7,000 miles. But each summer we are planning on big road trips like this. With this in mind, I started researching the Canyon Diesel and so far it seems like the perfect truck for what I want to do with towing. What I want to know from current owners is how the performance and longevity seems to hold up? Tacoma's have a good reputation of being a no-fuss truck, but I know the gas millage will not be as good as a diesel. Also one of the biggest perks of the Canyon is the engine exhaust brakes. I live in Ohio and if I am traveling around West Virginia, Pennsylvania areas on the weekends (because there are some steep grades on the highways) the engine brake would come in handy (not to mention the huge mountains out west).

If I find trucks with 60,000 plus miles am I getting into maintenance issues? One 2016 Canyon SLT I found has 80,000 and the dealer wants $23,000 for it. Any information you guys have will be greatly appreciated.  

I’ve got the 2017 with the 2.8l duramax diesel. I’ve loaded it with 4 men and a full load off fishing gear for a week in Canada. Pulled 38.5mpg when in the 55-60mph range. 33 at 70-75mph. It took at 8% grade to make it drop out of overdrive. Nearly 400ft# of torque.

I have a 4000# boat on a 1000# trailer. It pulls it comfortably. The boat is 9’ tall on the trailer and 8.5’ wide on the trailer.

I did get the 6.5’ box and crew cab and 4x4. It’s hauled a lot of fish game and gear. The 4wheel drive is solid. Never stuck on a two track or 4 wheeling..

Range on a tank of diesel on the highway is 600+ miles.