Any tips to improve fuel mileage?

Hi everyone.  I'm new to GM with a "new-to-me" 2017 Silverado LT Z71 Midnight Edition truck.

I've been lurking for a while before and after my purchase.  I've been reading a lot of threads (keyword here is "a lot") and I haven't really been able to collect enough information of my own so here I am with some questions for this community.  Preface; I'm coming from a 2012 Dodge Charger that had a 3.6L Pentastar V6 engine (averaged 27-28mpg) to this truck with a 5.3L V8 engine.  I'm not looking for "if you wanted good gas mileage, you should have bought a car" answers.  I'm ok with the significantly lower mileage but I'm new to GM so I'm still learning about these sexy trucks.

What has everyone done to improve their gas mileage, if anything at all?

I've read that Black Bear suggests 89 Octane due to our high compression ratio, what are people running fuel-wise to maintain MPG?

Should I be sticking with 87, or switching to 89 or even 93?

Any tips or tricks with these trucks to maintain good MPG without being a Gordon Lightfoot?

I started with 87 Octane and probably averaged 18-21 city/highway.  I added a K&N cold air intake and the mileage didn't change.  I switched to 89 Octane after reading up a lot on Black Bear Performance and my mileage seems to have dropped.  This is even on my 2nd full tank of 89 Octane.  Now I'm struggling to break 16.5 in the city and 20 on the highway.  Do I need a tune for just adding a CAI?  I'm planning on an exhaust by the end of the year or at least early next year so I don't feel like tuning yet, especially with an extended warranty right now.  Need to read up more on maybe buying a separate ECM core for dealership work to keep my flash counter at zero.

My Charger had a ton of engine mods and a custom Diablo tune so that is why I'm wondering what are we all doing to our trucks for this.

Thanks and looking forward to chatting with you all in the years to come.