Bad 02 sensors but only one code pops up

Andres

Question

Im new to this mechanic stuff and im not sure wht im doing or how to go about this. I have a 2003 5.3l Silverado. Im using a 2Launch CRP129E scanner and have readings of my 02 sensors. Truck runs like crap, timing is advanced and throttle body says its open at 8%.

Trouble codes are:

P0135

P0449

P0463

Any advice? Thanks.

20200709_081609.jpg

Edited by Andres

3 answers to this question

Would be easier to see if the graphs were separated, but it looks like your downstream sensor is switching - it shouldn't be. That's probably a symptom rather than a cause, though.

The last 2 codes I'd disregard for now, since neither will affect drivability (unless your purge valve is stuck open, but that usually throws a leak code too - can try pinching EVAP line off and see if it runs better). The 1st code is just a o2 heater circuit code - that shouldn't cause any drivability issues either once the vehicle is warmed up.

What I would do is look at your fuel trims, long and short term (LT, & ST) - any combination into the double-digit percent range, or any single reading in double digits is a problem. You can check your fuel delivery by setting up to graph your MAF, and both upstream o2 sensors, then, go for a 1st gear full throttle run. No need to go 110 MPH - just need to see what the o2's do at full throttle. If they flatline lean, or drop below full rich, you have a fuel delivery issue. If the fuel trims are high at idle, but get better with throttle, you could have a vacuum leak. If the trims are good at idle, but get worse with throttle / load, you probably have a bad, or extremely dirty MAF.

Just make sure you've got a sparsely populated area to do the test runs in. Or, a long highway onramp where you can go from 0-75mph.

Edited by Jsdirt

11 hours ago, Jsdirt said:

then, go for a 1st gear full throttle run. No need to go 110 MPH