Brake warning light on dash is frying my brain.

Hey guys,

I'm having a huge issue with my truck, for some reason I can not get the brake warning light on the dash to go away. It all started while I was driving at the desert (it's a long travel truck). I was taking it easy and I succumbed to my dads peer pressure to abuse it. Thats is when the dash light came on. A variety of other things came up, but ever other issue was fixed. I've exhausted every evil plan to murder this light but nothing does the trick. I changed out every light bulb, I replaced the rear tail lights, I replaced all the brake lines, bled the entire system, checked every fuse, replaced every brake and rotors as well, the parking brake is released, the parking brakes have been replaced, at this point I was thinking of ripping out the dash light but as a mechanic I just can't fail. Now yesterday on the freeway I realized my cruise control is not working either. Anybody have any idea how this could correlate to my brake light issue?

Check the switch on the e-brake. If you can easily unplug it, try that. If that was the problem your dash light will go out and your cruise will work again. That's just a hunch...there's lots of other possibilities. Regardless, if the truck thinks either the parking brake or service brakes are applied, cruise control operation is canceled.

What year, make and model truck do you have? Is it just the Brake light? Or the ABS light? There could be a sensor in the master cylinder reservoir that detects fluid level that has gone bad. May be time for a new master cylinder or sensor.

What year, make and model truck do you have? Is it just the Brake light? Or the ABS light? There could be a sensor in the master cylinder reservoir that detects fluid level that has gone bad. May be time for a new master cylinder or sensor.

X2

• 8 months later...