8.1 vs Duramax engine replacement

Hi All this is my first time posting here. I hope i got the right area and am doing this right.

Anyways, I have read a few post about 'do i buy a truck with 8.1l or a Duramax.' Well my situation is a little different. I have a '05 2500 Suburban with a 496 and 4L85E. My 496 is burning oil like non other and everyone (including 3 dealerships) says to just rebuild/replace motor since I have 176K miles on her. I have always wanted to send my suburban to Eric at Duraburb and get a duramax & Allison put in. But now that I am in a position that I HAVE to get something done, I dont know which direction would be the best overall choice. I am stuck between getting the Duramax put in or getting a Raylar Motor which is bumped up to a 540ci! I have always loved my gas motors and had no issues. But have always thought, well i have a 2500 rig a nicely tuned diesel would be a great way to go. But after finding the Raylar guys and their motor a almost 700 hp 540ci suburban sounds pretty bas ass too! She's my daily driver. We sold the boat a few years ago and are looking to replace it with a 28ft or larger travel trailer or a Tritoon boat. So she still needs to be able to tow. 

Any personal thoughts on which way to go are welcome! Thanks in advance for any feedback.

I would check out the GM replacement, possibly adding a supercharger. Fuel mileage may be better that way. The only diesel conversion I’ve seen a shop owner put a Cummings in an old Chevy dually, he still drives it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I would just stick with the gas motor. By the time you put a tuned diesel in there it will cost more then to just build the 496. I personally love the 496 and it would make a super fun ride with close to 700hp. If I didn't have my 2014 truck I would go buy one with the 496. 

3 hours ago, KARNUT said: