2019 Start Stop Disable Module

Do you have a new 2019 sierra or silverado?  Does it have the amazing start stop technology?  Do you hate it?  Well I can help you out!

My name is Matt, and I am an Electrical Engineer in the Albany, NY area.  I absolutely hate the start stop technology, but luckily enough GM was nice and put in a button to disable it in their trucks.  But wouldn't it be nice if it was the exact opposite, and the button could be used to enable it instead?  Who wants to press that button every time they start their truck to disable it?  I know I certainly don't want to.  

What I want to do is make a module, a very simple one that will be extremely small, and will plug into where the button is.  What this module will do is simply wait a couple seconds after the truck has been started, and it will mimic the button, and automatically turn the Start Stop off.  I can easily design this module, but need some help.

If somebody with the new truck could take some pictures for me of what the connector looks like going into the button, and do some electrical voltage measurements for the pinout, I can give them a free module in a few weeks to put in their truck.  I plan on selling and distributing these after I have designed them for roughly $125 a piece.  Everybody on this forum will get a discount though.

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, Camario said:

Stupid question. But wouldn’t just unplugging the connector behind the auto start stop button create an open circuit hence disabling it ?

Hi Camario, probably not.  There is probably a cable that runs from the computer in the Truck, to the button.  And in order to disable the start stop, you have to send a voltage pulse (probably 12V) to the computer to disable the Start Stop.  Pressing the momentary button completes this circuit and sends the pulse to the computer.