Has anyone had their soft Tonneau cover broken into?

Alright fellow truckers here is my current internal truck accessory debate:

Soft vs. Hard Tonneau Cover specifically, Truxedo lopro vs Truxedo Sentry...

Only decision point for me is: do I need the extra security of the hard cover and is worth giving up the extra  $380 and the lifetime warranty of the soft cover (hard cover is only 3 years)

Talking to the local truck accessory store they guy who's run it for 20 years says he's never had anyone come back asking to buy a new tarp because someone cut it and he thinks it's a much better value to get the lopro soft cover...

I've been driving a truck for about 6 years now and I've always had a hard cover, mostly a tonnopro hard fold but, they never hold up, I have to ask for a warranty replacement every year or so because something fails: stitching, seals don't stay stuck or a time or two they just showed up defective (cheap china crap cover basically), it doesn't look great on the truck and I'm sick of having to get new ones sent out...

I rarely have anything of great value in the bed, I keep a few trailer hitches, some tie straps & other odd ball tools in the bed and a time or two per year we make a vacation trip up north with the dogs and I have to load up all of our stuff including some guns and laptops etc in the bed of the truck but, beyond those trips, I rarely have anything of value left unattended in the bed & I suppose I could get an under the cover lockable tool box for about $200 from Buyers Products but, now I am pushing into hard cover $$ territory...

Not interested in folding covers or Undercover classic type covers that have to be removed ahead of time for bed access fyi..

So besides general insight and opinions: have you ever had your cover broken into? Mine looks like a soft cover from the outside and no one has tried over the years..

Thanks!!