0W-20 vs 0W-40 Fully Synthetic

Hey guys, so I know on the oil cap of my 2017 Sierra with the 6.2 it shows 0W-20.

I'm no oil expert, but was thinking of doing my first oil change at 1500 miles (which I usually do on all my new cars/trucks, just after break in) with 0W-40

I have a case of 0W-40 Pennzoil Ultra Platinum left over from my Hellcat. This was the SRT recommended oil for the Hellcat's. Clearly it must be a great oil for it to be the one they use and recommend.

Does anybody here that is well versed in oil know of a reason I shouldn't use the 0W-40 over the 0W-20 oil?

The 0W-40 must be rated and good for higher engine heat with less break down than the 0W-20 correct?

Thanks

Hey guys, so I know on the oil cap of my 2017 Sierra with the 6.2 it shows 0W-20.

I'm no oil expert, but was thinking of doing my first oil change at 1500 miles (which I usually do on all my new cars/trucks, just after break in) with 0W-40

I have a case of 0W-40 Pennzoil Ultra Platinum left over from my Hellcat. This was the SRT recommended oil for the Hellcat's. Clearly it must be a great oil for it to be the one they use and recommend.

Does anybody here that is well versed in oil know of a reason I shouldn't use the 0W-40 over the 0W-20 oil?

The 0W-40 must be rated and good for higher engine heat with less break down than the 0W-20 correct?

Thanks

Advanced Oiling System

The oiling system incorporates a new variable displacement two-stage vane-type oil pump that enables more efficient oil delivery, based on the engine’s operating conditions. Its dual-pressure control enables operation at a very efficient oil pressure at lower rpm, and then delivers higher pressure at higher engine speeds.