Power Steering Noisy and hard

Well I"ve read quite a few post about power steering problems and fixes. As a former gm mechanic I'm a little frustrated to say the least.

I've never been test and guess and hate to start now. Plus at my age don't really want to perform either repair. Pump or Gear.

So lets start. The steering has been a little strange since new (2004 GMC sierra crew 5.3L gas) noisy grumpy at times when turning, but not a power steering whine.

All of the sudden power steering starts whining and groaning like crazy and almost no power steering , kind of comes and goes between real bad and no assist at all. Works better at high rpm, but still very noisy and fluid is aerated/bubbles. Let set and start cold, no noise and steering works for a few seconds then gets air, goes noisy and back to where I started.

Flushed the system and if anything worse now.

Pumped fluid out like crazy when I flushed it.

Could I have a bad cooler or air getting into system?

No Leaks. I was going to hook up my old ps tester, but can't find adapters for the thing to metric.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

More info.

I tried making a vacuum adapter, but can't seem to make it work, keeps leaking through the cap.

System is perfectly quiet until you attempt left or right turn and then instantly pump gets air, starts screaming and fluid gets foamy.

Next I might try bypassing cooler. I was thinking maybe it works cold momentarily because the fluid is less viscous, but it sure goes foamy fast.

Probably less than 5 seconds. I haven't tried cold since flush. I flushed with cheapy Pennzoil and thought I would reflushl with gm fluid when I decide to replace something.

I've asked this question many times......and the only fix I've heard that works is to replace the gear box, which I have no interest in doing.....

because of the cost and it might not fix it...... this problem has been around for a long time. thanks GM for addressing the issue!