Is 5w-30 mobil 1 safe to run for a 2014 5.3L Sierra?

Is it safe to run 5w-30 mobil 1 in a 5.3L sierra all year, even in the Wisconsin winters?

Too much confusion above.

2014+ up 5.3 and 6.2 engines require 0w20 engine oil. Run 0w20.

Safe? Yes. Ideal? Possibly not

I'm no petrochemical engineer, but I've seen some pretty detailed and factual posts here explaining how the differences are negligible at most operating temperatures we see here in the continental US.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It is fully safe to use a 5w30 in that engine. Sure, it may not be warranty safe, but even that is likely not really an issue. Many fleet buyers use the same 5w30 even in the new Ecotec 5.3 as they do in all their other fleet vehicles with nary a problem and no grief from GM. Even the tightest oil galleries are hundreds of times larger than the molecules of a 30 wt oil. Even bearing clearances, even under pressure, are several microns larger than even a 30w motor oil. And a 5w20 flows just as easily at start up as a 0w20 unless one gets in the double digit below zero temps. A 5w20 and a 0w20 are virtually identical. And there is no dealer or OEM on the planet that can tell the difference if they took a used oil sample.

There are too many other things in life to worry about than whether a 5w30 can be used in a engine that calls for a 0w20. And in Wisconsin, a 5w30 will work fine down to -23F. If one is expecting colder than that, a 0w30 would probably be better. I live in Iowa and use 10w30 year round. But my vehicles sit in a heated garage during the winter when not in use. Someone is going to have to find the memo that a 10w30, even a conventional one, will not work in the 3.6L engine in the wife's 2006 Cadillac CTS. GM felt that only M1 5w30 synthetic should be used. Somehow, that engine never got the memo, and that the Pennzoil 10w30 conventional won't work. Runs like a champ and we are keeping that 12 year old car for a lot longer.