This is my first time to post in an auto forum. It has been a few years since I have done any mechanic work, but the need dictates for it now.

I have a 2001 Silverado Z71 with 143,000 miles. Last week I noticed a little "kick" while I was driving and then a small vibration under my feet. It wasn't a big thing, but enough out of the ordinary to warrant me pulling over. When I checked under the vehicle the underside of the chassis was coated in oil above the front driveshaft U-joint to the transfercase flange. The transfer case itself was covered in old grime and somewhat fresh oil. I drove the short few miles home without any vibrations or noticable change in the drive of the truck.

I put all 4 corners of the truck up on jackstands and proceeded to try and figure out where the oil was coming from. The transmission vent hose was wet with Dexron and a clear shot from the hose to the underside was grimed oil, too dark to tell what color. The transfer case looked as if it had been the victim of a slow drip from the vent hose, but once again, too dark and grimy to tell what color. The oil above the U-joint and splash did have a green tint. So I could guess that would be gear oil. Yet where is it coming from. I have wiped everything down completely clean; transfer case, U-joint, and undercarraige.