Unique Position to perform bulletproofing of 2012 5.3 Silverado

Hello,

2012 Silverado 4X4  Ext Cab LC9 with 101k miles.

As the title states, I have a unique situation. The cab and bed are entirely off of my truck (T-bone damage), thus I thought this would be a good time to do a DOD delete as well as any other recommended upgrades or repairs WHILE THE CAB AND BED ARE OFF! I haven't looked at too many kits yet (Scoggin Dickeys, Texas Speed, WS6Store, etc) and still figuring what I need/don't need. Definitely would like to put in a mild performance cam if it isn't too much extra.

I'm new to these trucks, so I don't know all the weak spots other than the DOD system. Basically, I'm interested in bulletproofing the system much like 6.0 powerstroke owners had to do.

I just heard about the oil pickup o-ring. WTH! Wow GM.... Worth it to do this at the same time as the DOD probably. Something about a AFM plate in the oil pan? But I'm open to your input. What else? something about timing chain guides??? I vaguely remember something about a fuel system issue being pretty common as well?

Sorry if I am all over the place. SO many questions right now. I just got the cab off yesterday and pretty much planning on ordering what I need by the end of this week

Be doing all the work myself

Thanks!

There is no AFM plate in the oil pan. There is only a oil pressure relief valve on the pan where the oil filter goes, if you remove the AFM/DoD system you can remove the valve and plug the hole. You should gain 5-10psi easy in overall oil pressure.

Doing the chain and stuff is up to you. They all have slack, even new chains.

You will have to decide if you want to keep VVT or delete that too. If you do remove it all, go with a standard 3 bolt camshaft and get a new 3 bolt 4X camshaft gear. The factory gear for the GEN 4 engines are a single bolt camshaft.

Fuel system is not an issue. You will have plenty of injector head room and fuel pump for a mild camshaft upgrade.