Tire recommendation for 2500HD Z71 4x4 Plow Truck

Waffull

I'll start of by admitting I'm a noob when it comes to trucks.

I have a 2015 Silverado 2500HD 4x4 Z71 LTZ with stock 265/60/20's.

I have a new 1/2 mile long dirt driveway (New England,) which I have to plow.  I've been back and forth about whether to get A/T's or M/S's... and sizes.

I'd love a recommendation.  I'm looking at getting new rims as I'll go with 17" or 18".  Being a dirt driveway, it also get's pretty muddy.  I need a tire I can also run on highway, but a good tire for plowing is key.

Appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks.

If you are dealing with snow, you want a well siped tire.  If you are dealing with mud, you want well spaced tread blocks.  If you are on the highway, the high noise levels of a mud tire can be annoying. 

I'd suggest the Goodyear Wrangler Duratrac.  It has a winter rating, and zigzag sipes.  The tread blocks are fairly well spaced.  Noise levels are very good when new, though they do get louder as they wear down. 

11 minutes ago, rkj__ said:

If you are dealing with snow, you want a well siped tire.  If you are dealing with mud, you want well spaced tread blocks.  If you are on the highway, the high noise levels of a mud tire can be annoying. 

I'd suggest the Goodyear Wrangler Duratrac.  It has a winter rating, and zigzag sipes.  The tread blocks are fairly well spaced.  Noise levels are very good when new, though they do get louder as they wear down. 

Thank you. I know I'm asking for a lot from one tire ;)

Cooper Discoverer AT3 is my plowing tire of choice. Great snow traction, still good on road. They offer several different variations of that tire, though I have never looked into what they offer for 3/4 ton trucks.

I ran it all year on my last truck, but that one was not my daily driver so I kept the mileage down.

DiscovererAT3_SUV_full.png

Edited by aseibel

8 minutes ago, damnthetorpedoes said: