2008 Yukon XL Drive train Issues.

Hello all I'm new to this read forums my entire life when needing help on a issue someone had back in 99. But anyway I have a 2008 Yukon xl 5.3 bought it a few years back quickly realized there was a issue on top of issue. I got screwed and screwed big time. Truck was sold as 168k miles. It was clean nice good looking truck for 4800 bucks. Turns out won't go over 65. We'll we just said screw it and run it for a while until we got our excursion. So now I've been trying to fix it. I need help I've tried refresh at the dealer it sat there for a entire day in a bay with a tech and they couldn't figure it out. So back to the drawing board. Later on tried to trade it in they pulled the carfax trunk our dude swapped the cluster and it was said the last reported mileage was 278k. Well ******. I want to figure out why it will not surpass 65. It has all the gears. Engine has all the power. No limp mode no codes. I have even pulled the cluster and drove it and that didn't change anything. Please help. Thank you. Derick r. 

• Like 1

14 minutes ago, swathdiver said:

Maybe they set that speed limit in the tune?  It can be done and undone with EFI Live or HP Tuners.

I was awaiting this. So first thing I had them try at the dealer was complete reflash and then individual reflash and to also check if there was a governor because our original thought was that it was a company car.

Edit: and this is what caused me to explore options and thought it was possible that the scam gauge cluster that was put in to roll the miles back was causing it. 

Edited by Derick R
  • Like 1

3 minutes ago, richard wysong said:

Partially clogged cat possibly? Pull an 02 sensor and take it for a ride or check the back pressure. Maybe fuel strainer restricted, put a fuel pressure guage on it and take it for a ride