When will i need new torque converter/stall

So I have heard that I should look into changing my torque converter or stall. Can someone help me better understand what that is and why I need to change it? Also, maybe some recommendations. They are telling me this because I just got the truck 2 weeks ago but hopefully by next month ill have Intake, Headers, E85 and a street tune. Can't justify a throttle body or intake manifold, change my mind? lol. But I am new to all of this and they are saying maybe a 3200 stall will be good? no clue. TIA!!! Also, can someone point me in the right direction for info on drive shafts and when I need one.

So it's not going out but the people you talked to told you.  You need to get a new converter for basic bolt-ons.

If that's true you need to talk to new people!!!!

I have all that plus a cam and heads and still use the stock converter.  

• Thanks 1
  • Haha 1

1 hour ago, JONBLARC7 said:

So it's not going out but the people you talked to told you.  You need to get a new converter for basic bolt-ons.

If that's true you need to talk to new people!!!!

I have all that plus a cam and heads and still use the stock converter.  

What are your numbers with that setup? Did you need a new driveshaft? I heard they can blow if you go over 100? 

I think it’s more in the 120 range but yes they do go out.  But with my tires I wouldn’t go 120.

No numbers because it was remote tuned for the cam.  Then I added headers intake and Wideband later and made the adjustments my self.  It runs good though,  my wife has a Scat Pack Charger with the 6.4.  I raced her to 70 the other day only Launching in 2wd and had her by a truck until we let out.  That’s with 33 mud tires and 22x12 rims.

Edited by JONBLARC7

• 1 month later...
1 hour ago, acguy2 said:

The root cause of these transmission failures IS the made in mexico converter failing and putting metal in the pumps and it turns to a grenade.

Really? Problem is in the design, not where it's made.