Just lifted 2015 1500 and added 35s, reprogramming needed?

stontr01

Hey everyone,

I just bought a 2015 1500 Sierra, got it lifted with a 6" BDS and added 35" Mickey Thompson ATZ P3s. This morning i had an appointment at local GMC dealer to get the computer reprogrammed to account for 35" tires. After 45 minutes of waiting they said GM doesn't offer a comparable size software download so they couldn't help me.

I know that my speedometer is off and I'm thinking my MPGs are off too. But I'm curious if not getting this reprogrammed will cause other damage? Shift points? ABS system?

If you have reprogrammed your truck for bigger tires, what aftermarket programmer would you recommend, or is this needed?

Any advice or insight would help, Thank you!

Thanks for the response, Im a bit of a rookie with tuning, changing tire settings with the programmer seems straight forward, I'm assuming custom tuning allows more configuration options for shift points, performance, etc?

How did the Blackbear tune impact your truck?

Thanks for the response, Im a bit of a rookie with tuning, changing tire settings with the programmer seems straight forward, I'm assuming custom tuning allows more configuration options for shift points, performance, etc?

How did the Blackbear tune impact your truck?

Yea, the handheld would be pretty easy.

Blackbear also sends you a handheld device to read your stock tune and install their tunes.

I am running a 93 octane performance tune, and it really wakes the truck up. They get rid of that "dead" pedal feeling where you hit the gas and it takes a second to react. They also tune the transmission and make it shift a lot better.

This is the third vehicle I have had tuned by Blackbear.

I know that my speedometer is off and I'm thinking my MPGs are off too. But I'm curious if not getting this reprogrammed will cause other damage? Shift points? ABS system?

I'm curious to this as well.

stontr01, on 29 Sept 2015 - 10:07 AM, said:snapback.png