New to towing with my 3.0 Duramax

Hello,

I am new to towing with my 2020 Silverado. She is outfitted with the 3.0 Duramax. We just purchased a 2018 Travel Trailer (5700 lbs). I have towed with my past trucks but none of them had the settings (trailer mode, + - on the gear selector) or the ability to have a camera system that essentially gives you a view behind the trailer you are towing. 

Any chance anyone can share some pointers/wisdom on the best way to tow, what to do, look out for and even using the camera system (which I have yet to purchase)? Any help/input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Dennis

We tow a smaller (4,000 lbs. GVWR) travel trailer with our 5.3 V8 '21 Silverado. Definitely turn on tow/haul mode every time you tow your travel trailer. It changes the shift points on the transmission and also keeps the alternator at full output (it's a variable charge rate system to save fuel, normally), which you'll want since your camper's deep cycle battery trickle charges via the 7-pin on your truck.

The gear range selector basically limits how high your transmission can shift. Your Duramax has a 10-speed transmission and 7th gear is your 1:1 gear ratio. Our truck has the 8-speed and 6th is our 1:1 gear. I like to tow in L6 to lockout the overdrive gears, which on your truck would be L7, but you may find L8 or L9 to be better for your application; it's worth experimenting. Regardless, I personally wouldn't tow in D as I don't see a scenario would it would be advantageous to lug the engine in overdrive that much while towing a heavy trailer.

On downhill grades, you also can use the gear range selector to hold a lower gear so you get engine braking to avoid burning out your truck and trailer brakes. You also can use it to hold a lower gear when you're approaching a steep uphill climb.