Going off road in Denali

Hi All,

A newbie here in So Cal. After 30 + years on the job decided to pull the plug and retire. I've had a company car for the past 20 years so I had to find me a nice retirement vehicle. My retirement truck is a 2018 Sierra Denali 4x4 with the ultimate package. 

After 3 months I love the truck. I only have a couple of questions and looking for some advice.

1: Is it normal for the transmission to clunk at times and shift hard?

2: Can the Denali be used off road and is it possible to change the 22" wheels and tires for 18"? If so will it void any warranties and or mess with the suspension?

Once a year I travel to the Eastern Sierra's for a week of trout fishing. There are some places we go that is off road etc. The truck is soooo nice I almost don't even want to take it off road but if I do will I have to worry about what it can or cannot do?

I know I should have gotten the All-Terrain but my dealer said it was to late to order as they had already started gearing up for the new 2019's. Plus I couldn't find one I liked that could be dealer swapped.

Thanks a head of time for your answers/recommendations,

Dj

IMG_3184.jpg

Beautiful truck! I don't think swapping tires/wheels will void any warranty or mess with the suspension at all as long as its stock size (265/65r18). These trucks are pretty capable off-road stock, I just took mine out for the first time a few weeks ago to an out of the way hiking spot and it did fine on rocky and rutted out dirt trails. The only thing I was worried about was puncturing a tire but they held up ok. The only thing I'd be worried about on your truck is scratching up those nice wheels! Anyways, congrats on the new truck and enjoy!

Edited by swoleymammoth

Hi All,